Date with Daddy

After another packed day at work, I had a date with my Daddy. Our default choice was Chinese food.

Today was the first time I’ve ever told off a waiter and straight up walked out of the restaurant. I’m feeling generous so I won’t disclose the name of that unfortunate place, but we had a pretty sh*tty experience. We walked in and there was not a single person in the restaurant. At 6 30pm. Bad sign already. Both the exterior and interior looked grungy, and there was a ghetto whiteboard with ‘specials’ messily scribbled only in Chinese. Plus, a disgruntled looking waiter who gave us plenty of attitude and not much service. After several prompts, he finally came by our to get our order. We ordered one item, but were taken aback when the next FIVE, I kid you not, options on the menu were ‘unavailable’. Um…so what is the point of having the item on the menu? We asked him nicely what he recommends, and he says go look for yourself on the blackboard. Um…rude much?

The last straw was when we politely asked him if we could get the order started with our first entree and get back to him on the rest. He looked visibly annoyed and walked towards the kitchen, and then refused. In his very words “Um can’t you make a decision now? Just pick something.”

I stood up, told him off and showed him real good. No wonder his restaurant is failing. I got up, flashed him my best rawr rawr face, and stomped out of the restaurant with my Daddy in tow. Jeez.

Instead, we went back to our usual Shanghai Pan-Fried Bun shop and indulged on those heavenly baos of meaty bliss.

Nom!

Mmmmm mmmmm mmmm. Could never go wrong with those, and plus the service was stellar. It was a great end to a terrible beginning.

Daddy and I continued our date in my new apartment, where we got settled in and watched our current favorite singing show together. Its shot and produced in our hometown – Hangzhou, China! Of course, my 5th grade DARE lion joined in on the fun. It was like a mini family reunion.

I see the resemblance.

Our date concluded after a fun grocery shopping excursion to Safeway. 🙂 Daddy Time is always a good time!

M

Leave a Reply

