Visiting Berkeley

Visiting Berkeley the day before the start of a new semester as an alumni feels…strange. I’m still walking the same streets, hanging out with the same old friends, and eating the same delicious foods. Everything’s the same…except not.

Angeline’s Louisiana Kitchen, one of my favorite restaurants in town, remodeled 5 months ago and I had no clue. Great China and China Village, two of my go-to Asian restaurants have burned down to to accidental fires. The Safeway in North Berkeley is under major construction. Everyone walking by with a backpack looks like they are 15.

Nevertheless, it was great catching up with old friends, piling up on a friend’s bed to re-watch Bridesmaids together, and revisiting old go-to places.

Oh, and I finally got my paws on a whole Cheeseboard pizza. With Tiffany and Chris, I grabbed my precious pizza minutes before they closed, dropped both friends off, and sped back over the Bay Bridge with the sweet sweet fragrance of wholesome Berkeley pizza wafting up my nostrils. Felt sort of like a rite-of-passage.

M

Leave a Reply

