NYC Day 2: MoMa, 5th Avenue, Cafe China & Empire Hotel

There is no place like it, no place with an atom of its glory, pride, and exultancy. It lays its hand upon a man’s bowels; he grows drunk with ecstasy; he grows young and full of glory, he feels that he can never die.  –WALT WHITMAN

New York City. Every time I come back, I never want to leave.

Concrete Jungle where dreams are made of.

Monie waiting for the Metro

I started off my day walking 30 blocks to MoMa in heels (very intelligent decision), and spent a good half of the day immersed in the world of art. With my J1 and 4s in hand, I covered every inch of MoMa’s 6 floors and outdoor sculpture garden. Thanks to Jeff’s membership pass, I was also granted access to exclusive member-only preview galleries. Although my feet were killing me by the end of my MoMa immersion, I was feeling extremely cultured and artsy. My favorites were Starry Night by Vincent Van Gogh and several pieces by Andy Warhol.

MoMa ❤

Van Gogh ❤

Harro.

After snatching up some super cool souvenirs from the MoMa Design shop including my brilliant new rainbow umbrella, I headed down the famous 5th avenue and shopped my hearts content at Zara, Juicy, and of course, the luxurious Saks 5th Avenue shoe shop with its own zip code. Window shopping, that is. Since all this traveling is making me a happy yet extremely broke person.

Rockefeller Center

I strolled through the Rockefeller Center and just roamed around the streets soaking in the energy of New York. Later, I hopped on the Metro to Union Square, where I met up with Jeff for his birthday dinner.

Cafe China for Jeff’s Bday

Cafe China transported me back into posh olden day Shanghai. The decor was exquisite, and I loved the attention to theme details. The service was top notch, and while the portion sizes were rather dainty, the food was delicious as well. I would say this was my most authentic Chinese meal I’ve had on the East Coast. In particular, the Szechuan Noodles and Soft Heart Sweet Potato Cakes hit the spot quite well. We even became paparazzi! Jeff spotted a top Chinese super model a few tables down from us, so we decided to be extremely ‘mature’ paparazzi. I’m sure I was not obvious at all attempting to snap pics with my huge Rilakkuma Iphone case. Not at all.

Afterwards, we headed to Ayza Chocolate and Wine Bar, where I was reunited with my dear friend Amy. I was digging the ambience of Ayza, but not so much the chocolate portions. Amy’s chocolate pizza was basically a glorified crepe, but still extremely tasty. I ordered 3 chocolates for $3 each. All were decent, but not worth the money.

Empire Hotel

Amoo & I!

We headed back to Jeff’s apartment at Fordham to chill, charge our phones, and watch the Voice of China (China’s most recent answer to American Idol). To end off the night, we headed to the famous Empire Hotel, home of Gossip Girl’s Chuck Bass. Fittingly, we sipped Gossip Girl cocktails at the chic bar. My XOXO cocktail was surprisingly extremely strong…which led to a very interesting cab ride back home.

New York ❤

M

Leave a Reply

