Eating Our Way Through South Bay

Today’s theme: Nonstop gluttony.

From the coveted seasonal salty caramel cupcake at the posh Sprinkles Cupcakes of Stanford Mall to a warm and cozy cup of red velvet latte at Bitter+Sweet, Cupertino’s up-and-coming go-to cafe, my taste buds were having a holiday while I could feel that evil double chin settling in. As I sit here feeling fat and lethargic with food coma…I look back at my day of ceaseless nomm-ing with incredible disbelief. How did I pig out that much?

I started off the day with a big oopsie for lunch. Since I am quite the regular around Castro Street, Mountain View, I’ve never bothered with addresses/directions. Therefore when I decided to dine at Fiesta Del Mar with Betty, I carelessly sent her the first address that popped up on Yelp. At lunch time I nabbed a great parking spot and texted her happily I was almost there. I breezed into the delightful little restaurant and was greeted by a friendly server. ‘I’m looking for my friends!” An awkward pause was followed by an awkward scan around the room. No sign of Betty nor K. The server looked perplexed and said solemnly: “You have no friends here.” What?!

Turns out…I gave them the wrong address. Big oopsie. I hung my head in shame and darted out of the restaurant to drive the 2.3 miles to the correct but incorrect restaurant. By the time I arrived, they were already closed for lunch so I tiptoed in awkwardly to join Betty & K. Thankfully, K already ordered some juicy enchiladas and a packed chicken quesadilla for me. Despite the rather dramatic entrance, lunch was fun and filling. Its always a blast to hang out with Betty, although she seems to bring out my clumsiness. Case in point, the tragic fate of my Sprinkles cupcake (read on for details!)

Next stop was Verde Cafe in Cupertino. Castro Street has a branch too, but I find that store to be subpar in service and milk tea quality, especially since they do not stock Verde’s signature QQ Ramen. Therefore, it was down 85 to my go-to spot in Cupertino. As expected, Betty was wowed by her pudding milk tea with QQ Ramen and Taiwanese style minced pork with rice.

Betty & K on our happy foodie adventure!

We walked off some calories at Santana Row trying out the new Tesla Model S, which was epic with its huge navigation screen and 2 trunks for maximum storage. It was Betty’s first time at Santana Row, so we walked around until we glanced at my watch and realized it was time to go visit our new apartment.

An hour later, we were on the road to Stanford Shopping Center in search of our beloved Sprinkles Cupcakes. K & I purchased 4 – the signature red velvet, seasonal special salty caramel, strawberry, and their special cherry. We devoured all of them on the spot. A mini tragedy occurred when the entire frosting segment of the red velvet cupcake became detached, and a rather large piece slipped from my fingers forever and taunted me from the floor. I was devastated.

Sprinkles, my love!

K in his tiny chair.

 

Gems in a box, clockwise: Strawberry, Cherry, Red Velvet, Salted Caramel.

Betty dropped us off back at Verde a little later. Of course, it was time to eat again. We decided to try out Kong Tofu & BBQ in the Verde Plaza to get our korean fix. I was pleasantly surprised by the delicious small dishes – very delicious kimchi and potatoes, intrigued by their signature purple rice, and downright in love with their short ribs. As my teeth sank into meaty bliss, it was like I was back in Jejudo again. Very authentic, and service was stellar. The owner is a sweet old man who personally goes from table to table to ensure everyone is enjoying their meal, and the check comes with cute little bottles of yakult (a popular Asian yogurt drink). I would say so far, this is the best Korean joint in Cupertino.

Nope. Thats not the end of it. Charlie met up with us at Verde, and we piled into his car to try out Cupertino’s chic new cafe Bitter+Sweet. I must say, I’m loving the vibe of this cafe – posh, modern, with metal chain curtains worked into the decor. They carry Humphry Slocombe ice cream, so no more need for us South Bay-ers to trek all the way up to the City to get our fix. Charlie and I both opted for the delicious red velvet latte which hit the spot with its not-too-sweet and creamy texture, but I hear the Vietnamese coffee ice cream is to die for. I shall be back!

Red Velvet Latte.

I spy with my little eye, Vietnamese Coffee Ice Cream!

Mmmm mmm mmm. I feel fatter after recapping all the food that is currently sitting in my belly. And tomorrow, I will be embarking on my SoCal road trip to LA and SD with my massive list of delicious places to stuff my face. Uh oh.

M

One thought on “Eating Our Way Through South Bay

Leave a Reply

