Coffee Shops, Photography & Wanderlust.

Coffee Shops

A few nights ago, Michael took me out to a cafe called MeToo. Designed and launched by 6 esteemed interior designers, the cafe screamed alternative chic. As it quickly became apparent, this was the cafe I’ve been translating marketing materials for. On a rainy Tuesday night, business was booming.

We slipped into cozy white sofas near the window on the second floor, sipped MeToo’s signature creamy Winter Wonderland coffee, and sat back to soak in the cafe’s unique ambience. MeToo is one of the city’s first successful forays into the realm of organic lifestyle themed cafes, and I must say they know how to do it well.

I think I’ve found my favorite cafe in Hangzhou. Despite my love for traveling and adventure, one of my most favorite pastimes is to sip a cup of coffee and curl up on a corner sofa with a good book.

20120628-223155.jpg

MeToo Cafe

20120628-223202.jpg

Rainy Tuesdays

20120628-223211.jpg

A creamy cup of coffee

Photography

When I was in Jejudo, my new friend Yuandi was shocked when I told her I’ve using my IPhone 4S for all my photography. Armed with her Canon 5D, S100, and IPhone, she was quite horrified at my complete lack of a ‘real’ camera. ‘Girl, don’t waste your travels!” Haha.

While I’ve been extremely happy with my IPhone and its slew of photo apps for effects and filters, I do agree it’s time to step it up a notch with a real camera. Any suggestions?

On Wanderlust.

Today on RenRen (China’s answer to Facebook), I read an incredible account of a Chinese guy’s solo 87-day journey from China to Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Laos, India, Nepal, Tibet and back. He saved up for a whole year before embarking on his journey, and went for it despite intense disapproval from his family. Having grown up in a typical Chinese family environment and received a typical rigorous Chinese education, Bao Long Xiang wanted to go out and see the world on his own terms. He represents a new sub-group of the ‘Little Emperors’ Generation – those who have not given up on the Chinese education system in favor of Western countries, but are looking for more. They have acquiesced to the will of their parents and society’s expectations, and most likely enjoy relative success with school and possibly work. However, with heavy exposure to international media, technology and social media platforms, and an extra bit of spending money, more and more young Chinese people are aspiring to the backpacker lifestyle. Popular routes range from following the Silk Road, the popular Southeast Asia track, to Europe. For many, its the first time they are completely on their own. With a backpack, some money, and absolute freedom to go wherever they want and do whatever they want…its exhilarating, terrifying, and liberating.

My wanderlust is back. Oops.

Bit by the travel bug. Again.

M

Leave a Reply

