Tragic Day for the Golden Bears

At 4:30 pm today, I completed my Marketing final. I pulled out my phone to reply to a few texts and ended up on Facebook. My feed was flooded with statuses and links from fellow Bears that a Cal student had jumped off the Unit 2 Towle Hall dorm. Unfortunately, he did not survive.

Many attributed it to finals, stress, or depression. Motivational statuses popped up continuously my feed. I am touched by the compassion of my campus community and happy to see so many peers stepping up to show their concern. But its not about why he chose to end his life, or making generalizations and assumptions about his death. Its about taking a quiet moment to pay our respects, acknowledge his mark as a fellow Bear, and honor his memory.

RIP.

M

Leave a Reply

