Running around like a (Effective) Headless Chicken

Education is what remains after one has forgotten what one has learned in school.

Well, that was an awkward transition from the title to such a deep quote by Albert Einstein. Or you would think. As much as I would have loved to retain my knowledge on international business tariffs, multivariable calculus and Caribbean Slave History, I realized the day after final exams that would just be wishful thinking. However, what I did learn from the last 3.5 years of college was precisely, how to run around like a headless chicken. In the last 2 years, I have become so skilled in the art of headless chicken running that I’ve actually managed to become effective under the guise of being flustered, overbooked, and constantly juggling different responsibilities. In fact, as much as I don’t want to admit it, I’ve thrived on multitasking and rarely saying no to any opportunity that came my way. While I definitely hope to add a taste of gracefulness in time for work (perhaps upgrade to headed chicken?), the image of a running headless chicken is very me.

For the first time in a long time, I felt that familiar adrenaline gushing through me as I powered through multiple concurrent meetings, quick canteen lunch with K, a movie shooting for my Management class, a discussion on gay clubbing and interview questions with my Sex & Intimacy Group, and a billion other errands, all the while typing up my 8 page essay for Globalization and World Order due tonight at 11:59 PM. Oh, and I officially joined the HKU Business and Economics Association. I feel so cool now with my spiffy Business & Economics sweatshirt and “privileged card” (apparently scores me sweet discounts at restaurants around campus).

My Welcome Bag. So Fancy!!!

Harro!

I rewarded myself by treating myself to a delicious burger at Freshness Burger, with waffle fries and CHEESE BALLS! I looveeeee cheese balls, and these were oozing with cheesy goodness. So satisfying.

After cheesy goodness, it was riding the most turbulent 22s minibus I’ve ever had the misfortune to wobble about on (the driver resembled and acted like a headless chicken too…I guess that makes two of us?). As soon as I plopped down on my bed, it was back to pounding out that essay. Normally I would have BS-ed a humanities essay in no time, but our tricky professor requires at least 8 cross references and comparisons to our book of choice, which meant I needed to actual go back and complete all the readings to find parallels. Fun fun fun. At least now I am enlightened on the stupidity of the IMF & World Bank, as well as the underlying forces that contributed respectively to the East Asian, Russian and Argentine Crises.

Tomorrow is a very special day, and I’m so excited to celebrate this milestone with a special someone. Stay tuned!

M

2 thoughts on “Running around like a (Effective) Headless Chicken

Leave a Reply

