Life as a Student

For the first time in I don’t even know how long, I stayed home all day and dutifully played the part of a studious HKU exchange students. With all the distractions both in Hong Kong and around Asia, sometimes I forget my primary reason for being here.

I started my day with a wholesome breakfast of yummy Chinese oatmeal, settled down in a comfortable position on my bed, and proceeded to lose myself in Joseph E. Stiglitz’s highly controversial Globalization & Its Discontents, among other publications of academia. It felt…surprisingly nice.

I stayed productive at a medium-high rate of efficiency up until dinner time, where I opted for some gourmet cuisine at the Queen Mary Hospital Canteen. As I walked to the hospital, I took a moment to look over the balcony at the place I’ve called home for the last 2 months.

Beautiful.

Sometimes, you can really find amazing beauty in the mundane.

M

Leave a Reply

